Norsk Norsk tekst
English English text


The Plant Variety Board was established in 1993, following the entry into force of the Act and regulations relating to the plant breeder's rights on 15 September in the same year. The Act is based on the International Convention for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants of 1978 .

The Convention was further revised in 1991.  Provided their legal framework satisfies the necessary conditions, countries and intergovernmental organisations, such as the EU, are entitled to join The International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV) (Union pour la Protection des Obtentions V├ęg├ętales).  The UPOV Secretariat is based in Geneva, Switzerland.

There are seven members of the Plant Variety Board, each of whom has a personal deputy member. Members are appointed by the Ministry of Agriculture and Food. The Board Secretariat is based at The Norwegian Food Safety Authority's Regional Office for  the Greater Oslo Region in Ski.

Postal adress:
The Plant Variety Board
c/o The Norwegian Food Safety Authority
General Postal Address
Post Box 383
N-2381 Brumunddal

Phone: +47 22 40 00 00

Visit adress:
Glynitveien 30, 1400 Ski

Contact persons: